baird-badmccSunday 11 May saw round one of the 2014 RCCAOI championship. The BADMCC club had done a great job of preparing the track, but the weather did not look favourable. The decision was made to go ahead and most of the standing water was removed from the track. Defending champion Bradley Baird took the top spot in round one with his JQ Products THE Car White Edition with John Matthews taking the honours in the electric class – both drivers running JQ cars and VP Pro tyres. Bradley drove his Team Orion-powered JQ to win each of the following four rounds and was the only driver to achieve 11 laps. He took the overall TQ from Gary Baird’s Agama in second and Aaron Vance’s VP Pro-shod Team Durango in third.
Bradley Baird won two rounds of electric qualifying and Aaron Vance the remaining round, but Gary Baird took TQ overall as he had the most consistent qualifying session.
The nitro B final saw Modeltune’s David Henry’s JQ take the race win and bump-up along side Jacub Wawrcacz. James Clarke had been in a secure bump-up spot leading the final until his engine let go and ended his campaign. The electric final was next up and after some close racing and numerous changes of the lead, Gary Baird took the win from Aaron Vance (Team Durango/VP Pro)and Bradley Baird (JQ/Team Orion/VP Pro/Raceform) with defending champion Andrew Rennick (JQ/HPI/VP Pro) just missing out on the podium in fourth with John Matthews (JQ/VP Pro) fifth.
The nitro final was all about one car and driver. Bradley Baird and his Team Orion-equipped JQ led from start to finish to win by two laps from second place Aaron Vance and Gary Baird in third. Bradley had selected VP Pro Axman in SF and Aaron VP Pro Striker in SF, with both choices working superbly in the high traction conditions. Derek McCloskey managed fourth and Alan Scroggie fifth after an unfortunate flame out. We also must make mention of team drivers Andrew White and Andrew McClean both making the main final.

Source: JQ Products

Tagged with →  
Share →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *