Schumacher-GT12-MB-ModelsLast weekend saw the second round of the 2016 BRCA GT12 National Championship at the recently opened MB Models Raceway. With 98 drivers booked in, this event was probably the largest and most competitive race GT12 has ever seen. For the Schumacher team, this was a greatly anticipated race, being the first big event since the Atom was released a couple of weeks ago.
For a first outing, qualifying was a great success with six of the ten cars in the A final being Atoms. The winner of round one, Adam Catchpole put in a fantastic run to take the pole position, with Schumacher’s Andy Murray less than a second behind. James Hart completed the top three on the grid with his Schumacher.
The A final saw a spectacular race up front with Adam and Andy pulling out a gap to the rest of the field as they carried out an intense battle. All eyes were on the battle to see Andy showing much improved form and putting pressure onto the current national champion. This continued until around the half way point when the tiniest mistake from Adam allowed Andy a way through. This battle thrilled the large crowd for the rest of the six minutes. Andy took the win just ahead of Adam. This was Andy’s first national win in GT12, on his BRCA debut with the car too.
James Hart (third) and Aidan Ripley (fourth) were able to break away from the battle for fifth, that saw a super close battle with all 6 drivers finishing within less than five seconds.

1. Andy Murray – Schumacher Atom
2. Adam Catchpole – Zen-Racing
3. James Hart – Schumacher Atom
4. Aidan Ripley – Schumacher Atom
5. Kieren Manders – Zen-Racing
6. Mark Stiles – Zen-Racing
7. Sam Clifton – Schumacher Atom
8. Mark Jewitt – Zen-Racing
9. Jonny Aird – Schumacher Atom
10. David Gale – Schumacher Atom

Source: Schumacher

Tagged with →  
Share →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *