BRCA-1;12-tamworth-A-10-5The 2015-16 BRCA 1:12 National Championship headed to Tamworth for the third round of the series. Tamworth is one of the regular venues and is always one to get mentioned at the EGM for the amount of work that the club put in to making it happen.

13.5T Stock
After round one Mark Jewitt looked to be on for a repeat of Crewe with Matt Lax also looking strong a lap back from Jewitt. Peter Craig and Ollie Payne also seemed to be on the pace. After several changes throughout qualifying between Matt, Mark, David Gale and Peter, it would be Matt on pole from Mark and David.
In the A final Matt Lax had a rough start and dropped to third as Mark Jewitt lead from David Gale. More incidents saw the top two swap as the race went on and the pack spread out as Ollie Payne battled with Andy Sawyer. The front of the field coped well with the lapped traffic and it would be David who took the win from Matt and Mark.

10.5T Stock
David Spashett showed the same lightning pace seen at Crewe by dominating qualifying, three out of four times going a lap quicker than the entire field. Mark Stiles, Mick Farrell and Chris Kerswell all swapped positions through qualifying. Behind David it would be Chris and Mark with just 0.15 of a second splitting them.
David Spashett made a clean break at the start of the A final with Mark Stiles pushing Chris Kerswell. Andy Murray had problems and dropped to tenth. Mark attempted a move off the back straight but just doesn’t have the gap close enough yet on Chris. David built up a strong lead and pulled away from the pack. Finally Mark made his move and into second, quickly building a gap to Chris. David cruised rot the win as Mark those second from Chris.

Sports Modified
Tim Wood took TQ after being top of the time sheet after every round. Jim Spencer was fighting but could not match Tim’s pace despite his best effort and ended up second. Matt Lax looked to be a contender for the first three spots in qualifying but could only manage fourth as Eugene Galley took the third spot. Tim Wood pulled away at the start tailed by Jim Spencer who was pushing hard as Matt Lax moved into third. Jim then out his car into the wall and gifted second place to Matt. Tim was still out in front pushing hard with a strong lead ad walked away with the win with a two second lead as they crossed the finish line. Matt came home second with Jim third.

Open Modified
Chris Kerswell, David Spashett, Mark Stiles and Adam Catchpole all had a look in to top of the list. After round three Adam looked to be the one to beat. Out of nowhere Mark took TQ for the first time in a number of years and was ecstatic as you can imagine. Straight from the start, David Spashett put pressure on Mark Stiles and after an incident in the first few laps his race was over with a mechanical problem. David took the lead with Adam until the latter dropped to third promoting Chris Kerswell up to second. Scott Booth was the big climber from seventh to third. Chris pushed David until the former crashed into the scenery, but maintained second place thanks to his gap. Scott and Matt White had a very tight battle for several laps until the former h slid off the end of the straight that allowed Matt to fit through the very small gap between Scott’s car and the barrier. David would take the win once again from Chris and Adam who was very close behind.
Well done to Patrick Bandeira for making his first open modified A final and sixth. A big thank you to all who attended. The Tamworth club once again put on a great show so a very special thank you to them. Next time out will be in Milton Keynes at the 2016 Model Motorsport Show for the Reedy 1:12 Race of Champions! Mode details and coverage to come soon.

Tagged with →  
Share →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *